! The Capitol Complex is closed to the public due to COVID-19. All meetings will be held virtually online. View procedures and guidelines for remote public comment

Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 5K bytes





Members Present:        Sen. Curtis Bramble, Chair
                Sen. Margaret Dayton
                Sen. Brent Goodfellow
                Sen. Karen Morgan
                Sen. Howard A. Stephenson

Members Excused:        Sen. Lyle Hillyard
                Sen. Scott Jenkins
Staff Present:            Allison Nicholson, Policy Analyst
                Karen C. Allred, Secretary
Public Speakers Present:    Barry Newbold, Superintendent, Jordan School District
                Kathy Johnson, South Jordan City Council
                Lynne Ward, Executive Director, Utah Educational Savings Plan
    A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

    Committee Chair Bramble called the meeting to order at 9:22 A.M.
1.          S. B. 87 -- School Property Tax Equalization Revisions

        Sen. Gene Davis introduced and explained the bill.

        Barry Newbold, Superintendent, Jordan School District and Kathy Johnson, South Jordan City Council spoke against the bill.
        MOTION: Sen. Stephenson moved to table S.B. 87.

         SUBSTITUTE MOTION: Sen. Dayton moved to go on to the next item on the agenda.

        The substitute motion passed with Sens. Bramble, Dayton, and Stephenson voting in favor, and Sens. Goodfellow and Morgan voting against.

2.     S.B. 95 -- Utah Educational Savings Plan Amendments

     MOTION: Sen Stephenson moved to substitute S.B. 95 with 1st Sub. S.B. 95.

    The motion passed unanimously.

    Sen. Neiderhauser introduced and explained 1st Sub. S.B. 95.

    Lynne Ward, Executive Director, Utah Educational Savings Plan, spoke in favor of the bill and answered clarifying questions.

Sen. Dayton assumed the chair.

    MOTION: Sen. Morgan moved to pass 1st Sub. S.B. 95 out of committee with a favorable recommendation.

    The motion passed unanimously with Sen. Bramble absent for the vote.

MOTION: Sen. Morgan moved to adjourn.

        The motion passed unanimously.

Sen. Dayton adjourned the meeting at 9:55 A.M.

Minutes were reported by Karen C. Allred, Secretary.

Sen. Curtis Bramble