Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 5K bytes


JANUARY 26, 2010
ROOM 250

Members Present:        Sen. D. Chris Buttars, Chair
                Sen. J. Stuart Adams
                Sen. Allen M. Christensen
                Sen. David P. Hinkins
                Sen. Patricia W. Jones
                Sen. Luz Robles
Staff Present:            Mark D. Andrews, Policy Analyst
                Cathy Dupont, Associate General Counsel
                Saundra Maeser, Committee Secretary

Public Speakers Present:    Candace Daly, State Director, National Federation of Independent Business
                Stephen Hunter, Executive Director, Utah Health Plans
                Jeff Hartley, Counsel, America's Health Insurance Plans
                Chet Loftis, Director of Public Policy and Government Relations, Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Utah
                Tim Morley, Pharmacy Director, Utah Department of Health
A list of visitors is filed with the committee minutes.

Chair Buttars called the meeting to order at 9:10 a.m.

1.    S.B. 39 Health Insurance Prior Authorization Amendments (Sen. K. Mayne)

    Sen. Karen Mayne introduced the bill.

    Candace Daly, NFIB; Steven Hunter, Utah Health Plans; and Jeff Hartley, AHIP, spoke in opposition to the bill.

    Chet Loftis, Regence BlueCross BlueShield, spoke in support of the bill.

     MOTION: Sen. Christensen moved to go to the next item on the agenda.

    The motion passed with Sen. Buttars and Sen. Robles voting in opposition and Sen. Jones absent for the vote.

2.    S.B. 41 Drug Utilization Review Board Amendments (Sen. P. Knudson)

    Sen. Peter Knudson introduced the bill. Tim Morley, Utah Department of Health, assisted in the presentation.

    Chair Buttars announced that S.B. 41 will be carried over to the next meeting on Thursday, January 28 at 8:00 a.m.

3.    S.B. 88 Pharmacy Practice Act Amendments (Sen. C. Bramble)

    This bill was not considered.

    MOTION: Sen. Christensen moved to adjourn.

    The motion passed unanimously.

    The meeting adjourned at 9:50 a.m.

    Minutes reported by Saundra Maeser, secretary.

                     D. Chris Buttars, Committee Chair