! The Capitol Complex is closed to the public due to COVID-19. All meetings will be held virtually online. View procedures and guidelines (PDF) for remote public comment and virtual meeting instructions (PDF).

Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 5K bytes

FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 5, 2010, 8:00 A.M.

Members Present:    Sen. Allen M. Christensen, Acting Chair
            Sen. J. Stuart Adams
            Sen. Patricia W. Jones
            Sen. Luz Robles

Members Absent:    Sen. D. Chris Buttars, Chair
            Sen. David P. Hinkins

Staff Present:        Mark D. Andrews, Policy Analyst
            Henry Liu, Committee Secretary
            Thomas R. Vaughn, Associate General Counsel

Speaker and visitor list in minutes file.

Sen. Christensen, Acting Chair, called the meeting to order at 8:35 a.m.

1.     SB0039 Health Insurance Prior Authorization Amendments (K. Mayne)

Sen. Mayne introduced the bill.

    Jeff Hartley, America's Health Insurance Plans, spoke in opposition to the bill.

     MOTION: Sen. Jones moved to amend the bill as follows:

    Page 2, Lines 38 through 41:

             38          (3) A statement of preauthorization
  shall include a statement that the pre-authorization       is:

             39          (a) not a guarantee of payment by an insurer; and
             40          (b) subject to the policy and contract provisions of the accident and health insurance
             41      contract.

    The motion passed unanimously.

     MOTION: Sen. Jones moved to pass S.B. 39 with a favorable recommendation.

    The motion passed with Sen. Adams voting in opposition.

2.     SCR5 Concurrent Resolution Recognizing the 100 Year Anniversary of the Mckay - dee Hospital (J. Greiner)

    Sen. Greiner introduced the bill.

     MOTION: Sen. Adams moved to pass SCR5 with a favorable recommendation.
The motion passed unanimously.
    Sen. Christensen adjourned the meeting at 8:55 a.m. without a quorum.

    The minutes were reported by Henry Liu, Committee Secretary.

Sen. D. Chris Buttars, Committee Chairman