Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 5K bytes

Friday, February 26, 2010
415 State Capitol, Utah State Capitol Complex

Members Present:        Sen. Dennis Stowell, Chair    
                Sen. Ralph Okerlund
                Sen. Margaret Dayton
                Sen. Gene Davis
                Sen. Karen Morgan    

Members Excused:        Sen. Allen Christensen

Staff Present:            J Brian Allred, Policy Analyst        
                Ernest Hayes, Secretary
Public Speakers Present:    Leonard M. Blackham, Commissioner, UDAF
                Mike Kohler, Executive Director, Dairy Producers of Utah
                Kent Barton, President, Moroni Feed Company

A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Chair Stowell called the meeting to order at 4:25 p.m.

1.     Welcome and Approval of Minutes

    Committee Chair Stowell welcomed the committee and visitors .

         MOTION: Sen. Okerlund moved to approve the minutes of February 22, 2010, and February 24, 2010.

        The motion passed unanimously with Sen. Christensen absent from the vote.

2.    S.B. 235 Agricultural Loan Authorization (R. Okerlund)
    Sen. Okerlund introduced the bill.    

Leonard M. Blackham, Commissioner, Utah Department of Agriculture and Food spoke to the bill.

Mike Kohler, Executive Director representing Dairy Producers of Utah, spoke in favor of the bill.

Kent Barton, President of Moroni Feed Company, spoke in favor of the bill.

         MOTION: Sen. Davis moved to pass S.B. 235 out of committee with a favorable recommendation.
3.    S.C.R. 11 Concurrent Resolution Expressing Opposition to the Creation of New National Monuments in Utah (K. Van Tassell)

    Sen. Van Tassell introduced the resolution.

         MOTION: Sen. Davis moved to pass SCR 11 out of committee with a favorable recommendation.

: Sen. Dayton moved to adjourn.

The motion passed unanimously.

Chair Stowell adjourned the meeting at 4:43 pm

Minutes reported by Ernest Hayes, Secretary    

                 Dennis E. Stowell, Committee Chair