! The Capitol Complex is closed to the public due to COVID-19. All meetings will be held virtually online. View virtual meeting instructions (PDF).

Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 4K bytes

Friday, January 29, 2010, 2:00 P.M.
Room 215, Senate Building, State Capitol Complex

Members Present:        Sen. Jerry Stevenson, Chair
            Sen. Ralph Okerlund
            Sen. Michael Waddoups
            Sen. Karen Morgan
            Sen. Patricia Jones

Members Excused:    Sen. Mark Madsen

Staff Present:        Art Hunsaker, Policy Analyst
            Lorna Wells, Committee Secretary

Public Speakers Present:            Derek Miller, Managing Director, Governor's Office of Economic Development
            Tom Bingham, Utah Manufacturer's Association

A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Chair Stevenson called the meeting to order at 2:02 p.m.

1.     S.B. 96 Uintah Basin Revitalization Fund Amendments

    Sen. Van Tassell introduced the bill.

     MOTION: Sen. Okerlund moved to pass S.B. 96 out of committee with a favorable recommendation.
    The motion passed unanimously with Sen. Jones and Sen. Waddoups absent for the vote.

2.     S.B. 48 - Utah Historical Society - Nonlapsing Authority

    S.B. 48 will be discussed at a later meeting.

3.     H.B. 24 - Economic Development Incentives Act Amendments
    Rep. Wallis introduced the bill.

    Mr. Miller and Mr. Bingham spoke in favor of the bill.

         MOTION: Sen. Morgan moved to pass H.B. 24 out of committee with a favorable recommendation

        The motion passed unanimously.

    MOTION: Sen. Jones moved to adjourn the meeting.

    The motion passed unanimously.

    Chair Stevenson adjourned the meeting at 2:35 p.m.

    Minutes were reported by Lorna Wells, Secretary.

                    Sen. Jerry W. Stevenson, Chair