Download Zipped Amended WordPerfect HB0192.ZIP
[Introduced][Status][Bill Documents][Fiscal Note][Bills Directory]

H.B. 192

This document includes House Committee Amendments incorporated into the bill on Wed, Jan 26, 2011 at 11:14 AM by lerror. -->              1     





Chief Sponsor: Paul Ray

Senate Sponsor: D. Chris Buttars

             8      LONG TITLE
             9      General Description:
             10          This bill modifies Title 58, Occupations and Professions, regarding the Controlled
             11      Substances Advisory Committee Act.
             12      Highlighted Provisions:
             13          This bill:
             14          .    adds two members to the Controlled Substances Advisory Committee:
             15              .    one H. advanced practice registered .H nurse H. [ practitioner ] .H ; and
             16              .    one representative of the public H. ; and
             16a      . amends the quorum requirements to reflect the membership changes .H .
             17      Money Appropriated in this Bill:
             18          None
             19      Other Special Clauses:
             20          None
             21      Utah Code Sections Affected:
             22      AMENDS:
             23          58-38a-201, as enacted by Laws of Utah 2010, Chapter 231
             23a      H. 58-38a-202, as enacted by Laws of Utah 2010, Chapter 231 .H
             25      Be it enacted by the Legislature of the state of Utah:
             26          Section 1. Section 58-38a-201 is amended to read:
             27           58-38a-201. Controlled Substances Advisory Committee.

             28          There is created within the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing the
             29      Controlled Substances Advisory Committee. The committee consists of:
             30          (1) the director of the Department of Health or the director's designee;
             31          (2) the State Medical Examiner or the examiner's designee;
             32          (3) the commissioner of the Department of Public Safety or the commissioner's
             33      designee;
             34          (4) one physician who is a member of the Physicians Licensing Board and is
             35      designated by that board;
             36          (5) one pharmacist who is a member of the Utah State Board of Pharmacy and is
             37      designated by that board;
             38          (6) one dentist who is a member of the Dentist and Dental Hygienist Licensing Board
             39      and is designated by that board;
             40          (7) one physician who is currently licensed and practicing in the state, to be appointed
             41      by the governor;
             42          (8) one psychiatrist who is currently licensed and practicing in the state, to be
             43      appointed by the governor;
             44          (9) one individual with expertise in substance abuse addiction, to be appointed by the
             45      governor;
             46          (10) one representative from the Statewide Association of Prosecutors, to be
             46a      H. [ appointed ] designated .H
             47      by that association; [and]
             48          (11) one naturopathic physician who is currently licensed and practicing in the state, to
             49      be appointed by the governor[.];
             50          (12) one H. advanced practice registered .H nurse H. [ practitioner ] .H who is
             50a      currently licensed and practicing in this state, to be
             51      appointed by the governor; and
             52          (13) one member of the public, to be appointed by the governor.
             52a      H. Section 2. Section 58-38A-202 is amended to read:
             52b      58-38a-202.   Terms of committee service.
             52c          (1) (a) Members of the advisory committee shall serve terms of four years, except that the
             52d      members under Subsections 58-38a-201(1), (2), and (3) shall serve during their terms as appointed
             52e      officials.
             52f          (b) Vacancies in the committee occurring otherwise than by the expiration of a term shall be
             52g      filled for the unexpired term in the same manner as original appointments.
             52h          (2) A member may not receive compensation or benefits for the member's service, but

             52i      may receive per diem and travel expenses in accordance with:
             52j          (a) Section 63A-3-106;
             52k          (b) Section 63A-3-107; and
             52l          (c) rules made by the Division of Finance pursuant to Sections 63A-3-106 and 63A-3-107.
             52m          (3) (a) The director of the Department of Health, or the director's designee, is the chair of the
             52n      committee.
             52o          (b) The advisory committee meets at the call of the chair or at the call of a majority of the
             52p      committee members.
             52q          (c) The advisory committee meets annually and more often as required to carry out its duties
             52r      under this chapter.
             52s          (d) [ Six ] Seven members of the advisory committee constitute a quorum.
             52t          (e) Action by the committee requires a majority vote of a quorum. .H

Legislative Review Note
    as of 11-16-10 4:38 PM

Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel

[Bill Documents][Bills Directory]