Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 5K bytes


February 10, 2011
Room 445, State Capitol Building

MEMBERS PRESENT:    Rep. Bill Wright, Chair
        Rep. LaVar Christensen, Vice Chair
        Rep. Patrice Arent
        Rep. Becky Edwards
        Rep. Steve Eliason
        Rep. Rebecca Lockhart    
        Rep. John Mathis
        Rep. Kay McIff
        Rep. Carol Spackman Moss
        Rep. Merlynn Newbold
        Rep. Marie Poulson
        Rep. Kraig Powell
        Rep. Holly Richardson
        Rep. Ken Sumsion

MEMBERS ABSENT:    Rep. Greg Hughes            
STAFF PRESENT:    Constance C. Steffen, Policy Analyst
        Linda Service, Committee Secretary

Note: List of visitors and copy of handouts are filed with committee minutes.

Rep. Wright called the meeting to order at 4:15 p.m.

MOTION:    Rep. Arent moved to approve the minutes of February 9, 2011. The motion passed unanimously. Rep. Edwards, Rep. Mathis, and Rep. Newbold were absent for the vote.

H.B. 275    School District Division Amendments (Rep. K. Sumsion)

Rep. Sumsion introduced the bill which modifies requirements for the imposition of property taxes in a new and remaining school district after a school district split.

MOTION:    Rep. Newbold moved to pass the bill out with a favorable recommendation. The motion passed unanimously.

H.J.R. 15    Joint Resolution Amending State Board of Education Provisions (Rep. C. Herrod)

H.J.R. 15 was not considered.

H.B. 183    School District Leave Policies (Rep. K. Grover)

H.B. 183 was not considered.

MOTION:    Rep. Mathis moved to adjourn at 4:40 p.m. The motion passed unanimously.

            Rep. Bill Wright, Chair