Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 5K bytes



TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 8, 2011, 4:00 P.M.


Members Present:        Sen. Howard A. Stephenson, Chair
                Sen. Wayne Niederhauser
                Sen. Jerry Stevenson
                Sen. Daniel Thatcher
Members Excused:        Sen. Lyle Hillyard
                Sen. Karen Morgan        
Staff Present:            Allison Nicholson, Policy Analyst
                Karen C. Allred, Secretary
Public Speakers Present:    Larry Shumway, State Superintendent, Utah State Office of                     Education (USOE)
                Ashlyn Hansen, Student, Open High School of Utah
                JeRee Quintrequeo, Parent
                Leslie Phillips, Teacher, Utah Electronic High School
                Kathleen Webb, Principal, Utah Electronic High School
                Jackie Warren, Parent
                Madeline Meyer, Student
                Laura Belnap, Principal, Washington On-Line School
                DeLaina Tonks, Director, Open High School of Utah
                Kelley Broadbent, Parent, Open High School of Utah
                Patti Harrington, Educator
                Sharon Gallagher-Fishbaugh, President, Utah Education
                Carie Valentine, Parent, Utah Virtual Academy
                Victor Shanti, Parent & Psychologist
                Jennifer Mortensen, Parent
                Stan Rasmussen, Sutherland Institute
                Judi Clark, Executive Director, Parents for Choice in Education
                Devan Salazar, Student, Open High School of Utah

    A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

    Acting Chair Niederhauser called the meeting to order at 4:13 P.M.

     MOTION: Sen. H. Stephenson moved to approve the minutes of the February 7, 2011 meeting.

    The motion passed unanimously with Sen. J. Stevenson absent for the vote.

1.         S.B. 65 - Statewide Online Education Program
        Sen. H. Stephenson introduced and explained the bill.
        Dr. Shumway, Ms. Webb, and Dr. Harrington spoke to the bill.

        Ms. Hansen, Ms. Warren, Ms. Meyer, Ms. Belnap, Ms. Tonks, Ms. Broadbent, Dr. Shanti, Mr. Rasmussen, Ms. Clark, and Mr. Salazar spoke in favor of the bill.

        Ms. Quintrequeo, Ms. Phillips, Ms. Gallagher-Fishbaugh, Ms. Valentine, and Ms. Mortensen spoke in opposition to the bill.
         MOTION: Sen. J. Stevenson moved to pass S.B. 65 out of committee with a favorable recommendation.

        The motion passed unanimously.

     MOTION: Sen. J. Stevenson moved to adjourn.

    The motion passed unanimously.

    Acting Chair Neiderhauser adjourned the meeting at 5:34 P.M.

    Minutes were reported by Karen C. Allred, Secretary.

Sen. Howard A. Stephenson