Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 5K bytes


FEBRUARY 7, 2011
ROOM 250

Members Present:        Sen. D. Chris Buttars, Chair
                Sen. Allen M. Christensen
                Sen. Mark B. Madsen
                Sen. Stuart C. Reid
                Sen. Patricia W. Jones
                Sen. Luz Robles
Staff Present:            Mark D. Andrews, Policy Analyst
                Kathy Helgesen, Committee Secretary

Public Speakers Present:    Lauren Barrows, attorney
                Dale LeDuc
                Julie Gainer, MD
                Cathleen Power
                Bill Dance, Sutherland Institute
                Ray Anderson
                Gayle Ruzika, Utah Eagle Forum
                Debbie Thompson
                Karen Clark, Utah Eagle Forum
                Kim Dahl, Coaltion for Parental Rights
                Peter Cannon
                Andrea Globokar
                Gerald Hasty
                Nicole Wilkinson
                Rose Marie Murray, United Families of Utah
                Michael Hales, Deputy Director, Utah Department of Health
                Ronald Mortensen, Senior Policy Advisor, Davis County 9/12 Project
                Sheila Walsh-McDonald, Utah Health Policy Project, Salt Lake Community Action
                Stan Rasmussen, Director of Public Affairs, Sutherland Institute

A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Sen. Buttars called the meeting to order at 8:15 a.m.

Approval of Minutes

     MOTION: Sen. Jones moved to approve the minutes of February 3, 2011

    The motion passed unanimously with Sen. Madsen and Sen. Robles absent for the vote.

1.     SB0062 - Adoption Revisions (R. Romero)

    Sen. Romero presented the bill.

    Ms. Barrows, Mr. LeDuc, Dr. Gainer, Ms. Power, Mr. Anderson, Ms. Thompson, Ms. Globokar, and Ms. Wilkinson spoke in favor of the bill.

    Mr. Dance, Ms. Ruzika, Ms. Clark, Mr. Cannon, and Mr. Hasty spoke in opposition to the bill.

    Ms. Dahl and Ms. Murray spoke to the bill.

     MOTION: Sen. Robles moved to pass S.B. 62 out of committee with a favorable recommendation.

     SUBSTITUTE MOTION: Sen. Reid moved to table S.B. 62.

    The substitute motion passed 5-1-0 with Sen. Robles voting in opposition.

2.     HB0211 - Community Service Medicaid Pilot Program (R. Menlove)

    Rep. Menlove presented the bill.

    Mr. Hales spoke to the bill.

    Mr. Mortensen and Mr. Rasmusssen spoke in favor of the bill.

    Ms. Walsh-McDonald spoke in opposition to the bill.

    MOTION: Sen. Christensen moved to pass H.B. 211 out of committee with a favorable recommendation.

    The motion passed 4-2-0 with Sen. Jones and Sen. Robles voting in opposition.


Sen. Christensen moved to adjourn.

    The motion passed unanimously.

    The meeting adjourned at 9:52 a.m.

    Minutes reported by Kathy Helgesen, Secretary.

                     Sen. D. Chris Buttars, Committee Chair