! The Capitol Complex is closed to the public due to COVID-19. All meetings will be held virtually online. View procedures and guidelines (PDF) for remote public comment and virtual meeting instructions (PDF).

Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 5K bytes

Monday, February 7, 2011
415 State Capitol, Utah State Capitol Complex

Members Present:        Sen, Ralph Okerlund, Chair
                Sen. Allen Christensen
                Sen. Margaret Dayton
                Sen. David Hinkins
                Sen. Dennis Stowell

Member Absent:        Sen. Gene Davis            

Staff Present:            J Brian Allred, Policy Analyst        
                Cynthia Millar, Secretary
Public Speakers Present:    Aaron Tilton, CEO, Blue Castle
                Jerry Olds, Manager, Olds Engineering
                Ed Firmage, Private citizen
                Matt Pacenza, Policy Director, HEAL Utah

A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Sen. Christensen called the meeting to order at 2:05p.m.

Those present were informed that SB68, Solid Waste -Financial Assurance Requirements would not be heard today.

1.     Approval of Minutes

     MOTION: Sen. Dayton moved to approve the minutes of February 2, 2011.

    The motion passed unanimously.

2.     Utah's Blue castle Nuclear Generating Station Presentation

Aaron Tilton, CEO, Blue Castle gave the presentation with Jerry Olds, Manager,Olds     Engineering, assisting with the presentation.

Ed Firmage, Private citizen, shared his concern that Utah does not have the water resources     necessary for long term support of a nuclear generating station.

    Matt Pacenza, Policy Director, HEAL Utah spoke against the idea of building a Nuclear     generating station in utah. He presented the idea that Utah should consider wind, solar, and     geothermal energy for its long term energy demands.

     MOTION: Sen. Dayton moved to adjourn.

    The motion passed unanimously.

    Sen Christensen adjourned the meeting at 2:40 p.m.

    Minutes reported by Cynthia Millar, Secretary

                 Ralph Okerlund, Committee Chair