Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 6K bytes

TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 15, 2011, 2:00 P.M.

Members Present:    Sen. Stuart Reid, Committee Chair
            Sen. Ralph Okerlund
            Sen. Jerry Stevenson
            Sen. Michael Waddoups
            Sen. Karen Morgan

Member Excused:    Sen. Patricia Jones     
Staff Present:    Art Hunsaker, Policy Analyst
            Karen Allred, Committee Secretary

Public Speakers Present: Scott Brown, Director, American Heart Association
            Scott Brown, Yalecrest Resident
            Roger Little, Yalecrest Resident
            Jodi Howick, Yalecrest Resident
            Barbara Madsen, Yalecrest Resident
            Susan Porter, Yalecrest Resident
            Ray Morrison, Yalecrest Resident
            Jeff Justice, Yalecrest Resident
            Tracey Harty, Yalecrest Heritage Preservation Committee
            Kirk Huffaker, Yalecrest Heritage Preservation Committee
            Lynn Pace, Deputy City Attorney
            Polly Hart, Member, Historic Landmark Commission
            Jan Hemming, Yalecrest Resident
            Fientjc allis-van rossum, Yalecrest Resident
A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Chair Reid called the meeting to order at 2:10 p.m.

Approval of Minutes

    MOTION: Sen. Okerlund moved to approve minutes of the February 8, 2011 meeting.

    The motion passed unanimously with Sens. Stevenson, Waddoups and Morgan absent for the vote.

1.     S.C.R. 12 Wear Red Month Concurrent Resolution (K. Mayne)
    Sen. Mayne explained the bill.

    Scott Brown, Director, American Heart Association spoke in support of the bill.

    The following amendment was proposed.
    Page 1, lines 14-15: After "fight against heart disease" delete "by commemorating this day"

     MOTION: Sen. Morgan moved to adopt the amendment.

    The motion passed unanimously with Sen. Waddoups absent for the vote.

     MOTION: Sen. Morgan moved to transmit S.C.R. 12 with a favorable recommendation.

    The motion passed unanimously with Sen.Waddoups absent for the vote.

2.     1st Sub. H.B. 17 Enterprise Zone Amendments (K. Powell)

Rep. Powell explained the bill.

     MOTION: Sen. Okerland moved to transmit 1st Sub. H.B. 17 with a favorable     recommendation.

    The motion passed unanimously.

3.     S.B. 243 Historic Areas or Sites Amendments (W. Niederhauser)

Sen. Niederhauser explained the bill.

    Speaking in support of the bill were Scott Brown, Yalecrest Resident; Roger Little, Yalecrest     Resident; Jodi Howick, Yalecrest Resident; Barbara Madsen, Yalecrest Resident; Susan     Porter, Yalecrest Resident; Ray Morrison, Yalecrest Resident and Jeff Justice, Yalecrest     Resident who also answered questions from the committee.

    Speaking in opposition to the bill were Tracey Harty, Yalecrest Heritage Preservation     Committee; Kirk Huffaker, Yalecrest Heritage Preservation Committee; Lynn Pace,     Deputy City Attorney; Polly Hart, Member, Historic Landmark Commission; Jan     Hemming, Yalecrest Resident and Fientjc allis-van rossum, Yalecrest Resident.

     MOTION: Sen. Stevenson moved to transmit 1st Sub. H.B. 17 with a favorable     recommendation.

The motion passed with Sens. Reid, Okerlund, Stevenson and Waddoups voting in favor the     bill and Sen. Morgan voting in opposition.

    MOTION: Sen. Waddoups moved to adjourn.

    The motion passed unanimously.

    Chair Reid adjourned the meeting at 3:20 p.m.


Sen. Stuart Reid, Committee Chair