Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 5K bytes

Room 445, State Capitol
February 15, 2012

MEMBERS PRESENT:    Rep. Francis Gibson, Chair
        Rep. Bill Wright, Vice Chair
        Rep. Patrice Arent
        Rep. Becky Edwards
        Rep. Steven Eliason
        Rep. John G. Mathis
        Rep. Kay L. McIff
        Rep. Carol Spackman Moss
        Rep. Merlynn Newbold
        Rep. Marie H. Poulson
        Rep. Kraig Powell
        Rep. Ken W. Sumsion

MEMBERS EXCUSED:    Rep. Greg H. Hughes
        Rep. Rebecca D. Lockhart

MEMBERS ABSENT:    Rep. LaVar Christensen            
STAFF PRESENT:    Constance C. Steffen, Policy Analyst
        Linda Service, Committee Secretary
Note: List of visitors and copy of handouts are filed with committee minutes.

Chair Gibson called the meeting to order at 8:22 a.m.

H.B. 123    Education Savings Accounts (Rep. J. Dougall)

Rep. Dougall introduced the bill which modifies funding for public and higher education.

The following spoke in opposition to the bill:
    Mr. Kory Holdaway, Utah Education Association
    Ms. Peggy Jo Kennett, Utah School Boards Association
    Ms. Deon Turley, Utah PTA

The following spoke in favor of the bill:
    Mr. Peter Cannon, citizen
    Ms. Wendy Hart, parent
    Mr. Stan Rasmussen, Sutherland Institute
    Mr. Ron Mortensen, Citizens for Tax Fairness
    Mr. Jim Young, student, Syracuse High School
    Ms. Makenna Harvey, student, Syracuse High School

MOTION:    Rep. Sumsion moved to hold H.B. 123 for the purpose of considering amendments to the bill. The motion passed unanimously.

1st Sub. H.B. 135    Focus on Front-line Teachers Program (Rep. J. Nielson)

Chair Gibson announced that 1st Sub. H.B. 135 will be placed on the agenda for the committee's meeting on Friday, February 17, 2012 at 2:00 p.m.

MOTION:    Rep. McIff moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously. Chair Gibson adjourned the meeting at 9:45 a.m.

            Rep. Francis Gibson, Chair