Link to Zipped WordPerfect Minutes 6K bytes

Room 450 State Capitol

February 21, 2012

MEMBERS PRESENT:        Rep. Bradley M. Daw, Chair
                    Rep. Johnny Anderson, Vice Chair
                    Rep. Stewart E. Barlow
                    Rep. Janice M. Fisher            
                    Rep. Stephen G. Handy                
                    Rep. Lynn N. Hemingway
                    Rep. Todd E. Kiser                
                    Rep. Bradley G. Last                
                    Rep. Carol Spackman Moss
                    Rep. Jim Nielson
                    Rep. Jeremy A. Peterson
                    Rep. Val L. Peterson                    

MEMBERS EXCUSED:        Rep. Wayne A. Harper    
MEMBERS ABSENT:        Rep. Kenneth Sumsion
STAFF PRESENT:            Mr. Leif Elder, Policy Analyst
                    Ms. Karen Mitchell, Committee Secretary

Note: A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes .

Chair Daw called the meeting to order at 9:06 a.m.

MOTION:    Rep. Hemingway moved to approve the minutes of the February 16, 2012 meeting. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Last absent for the vote.

1st Sub. H.B. 327    Operation of Bicycles on Highways (Rep. J. Anderson)

Rep. Anderson introduced the bill to the committee with the assistance of: Mr. Dan Fazzini, J., Citizen.

Spoke for the bill:    Mr. Stephen D. Thompson, ABATE
            Mr. Philip Carlson, Salt Lake Bike Collective and Republicans for     
                Environmental Protection
            Mr. Jay Burmmett, ABATE/Motorcycles

Spoke against the bill:    Mr. Carlos Braceras, Deputy Director, Utah Department of                                                   Transportation
                Major Mike Keen, Utah Highway Patrol
                Mr. Brian Allen, American Family Insurance
                Ms. Rolayne Fairclough, AAA Utah

MOTION:    Rep. Kiser moved to adopt 2nd Substitute H.B 327.

Rep. Fisher moved to hold 1st Substitute H.B. 327. The motion passed with Rep. Anderson, Rep. Daw, and Rep. Kiser voting in opposition. Rep. Last was absent for the vote.

H.B. 182    Signage Honoring Fallen Highway Patrol Officers (Rep. B. Wilson)

Rep. Wilson introduced the bill to the committee.

MOTION:    Rep. Kiser moved to pass H.B. 182 out favorably. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Last and Rep. Nielson absent for the vote.

MOTION:    Rep. Moss moved to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Last and Rep. Nielson absent for the vote.

Chair Daw adjourned the meeting at 9:57 a.m.

                            Rep. Bradley M. Daw, Chair