House Natural Resources, Agriculture, and Environment Committee - March 05, 2018

445 State Capitol

  Display documents automatically as they are discussed

This meeting is not currently streaming.

 Recording 1
 Chair Stratton called the meeting to order at 10:19 a.m.
 H.B. 481 Donald J. Trump Utah National Parks Highway Designation (Noel, M.)
 Rep. Noel explained the bill assisted by Mr. Don Peay, citizen.
 Ms. Chelsea Hicken, citizen, spoke against the bill.
 Mr. Leland Pollock, Commissioner, Garfield County, spoke for the bill.
 Mr. Tom Hanrahan, citizen, spoke against the bill.
 Mr. Bruce Adams, Chairman, San Juan County Commission, spoke for the bill.
 Mr. Stanton Gleave, Piute County, spoke for the bill.
 Mr. Jeremiah Riley, Firm Foundation through Research Management, spoke for the bill.
 Mr. Issac Bustos Hernandez, Future in Design, spoke against the bill.
 Ms. Catherine Eslinger, Mormon Women for Ethical Government, spoke against the bill.
 Ms. Virginia Ward, attorney, spoke against the bill.
 Ms. Wendy Garvin, Salt Lake County Progressive Caucus, spoke against the bill.
 Ms. Thea Brannon, citizen, spoke against the bill.
 Mr. Dale Brinkerhoff, Commissioner, Iron County Commission, spoke for the bill.
 Ms. Natalie Callahan, Chair, Utah Young Republicans, spoke for the bill.
 Ms. Ashley Soltysiak, Utah Chapter of the Sierra Club, spoke against the bill.
 Mr. Brett Stewart, Salt Lake County resident, spoke for the bill.
 Rep. Barlow moved to pass H.B. 481 out favorably.
 Rep. Duckworth requested the committee give a moment of silence to Mr. Fred Hayes, Director, Utah Division of Parks and Recreation, in his passing.
 S.B. 98 Ratification of the Ute Indian Water Compact (Van Tassell, K.)
 Sen. Van Tassell explained the bill.
 Rep. Hawkes moved to amend S.B. 98 with Amendment #1.
 Rep. Hawkes moved to pass S.B. 98 out favorably as amended.
 S.B. 220 Hole in the Rock State Park Trail Extension (Dayton, M.)
 Sen. Dayton explained the bill assisted by Mr. Stewart Matheson, Hole in the Rock Foundation, and Mr. Chris Haller, Program Manager, Division of Parks and Recreation.
 Mr. Kelly Stowell, Economic Development, Kane County, spoke for the bill.
 Rep. Watkins moved to pass S.B. 220 out favorably.
 Rep. Duckworth moved to adjourn.
 Chair Stratton adjourned the meeting at 12:04 p.m.
Recording 1 - Low Quality     

Having trouble listening? Try our troubleshooting page.