The Electronic High School began operation in 1994. Students may enroll in the EHS to make up school credit, take courses not offered through their high schools, or take extra credit hours to graduate early. The EHS enrolls students from Utah as well as students from other states or countries. Utah students may enroll in the EHS without charge; students outside Utah pay a $50 fee for each course each quarter.
Courses offered through the EHS are correlated to the state core curriculum. The EHS offers competency based instruction and provides an open-entry open-exit curriculum. "With a few exceptions, students are able to enroll any day of the year and work at their own pace until the course is completed. We expect students to complete a course within twelve months, but extensions can be granted" (USOE Electronic High School, Website, December 2006). Utah public school students wishing to enroll in the EHS must meet with their school counselor to ensure EHS courses they plan on taking meet graduation requirements.
Formula -- School districts and charter schools do not receive EHS funding, rather all appropriated revenue supports the maintenance and operation of the EHS.
During the 2015 General Session, the Legislature appropriated for Fiscal Year 2016, $0 from all sources for Electronic High School. This is a 0 percent change from Fiscal Year 2015 revised estimated amounts from all sources.
The Electronic High School is governed by the following statute.
- UCA 53A-17a-131.15 -- provides that funds appropriated to support the Electronic High School are distributed to the school according to rules established by the Board.
Administrative Rule R277-725-3 provides administrative procedures associated with the governance of the Electronic High School.
The Legislature intends that the State Board of Education review the Pupil Transportation Allocation Formula and recommend ways to improve the formula to increase efficiency, simplify allocation methodology to school districts, and provide incentives for alternative transportation methods. The Legislature further intends that the State Board of Education report its recommendations to the Education Interim Committee and the Public Education Appropriations Subcommittee by October 31, 2015.
HB0002: Item 2
The Legislature intends that the State Board of Education and State Board of Regents provide joint recommendations on how to ensure that each concurrent enrollment course is taught by a qualified instructor, that credits earned by students count towards major and minor degree requirements at state colleges and universities, and that students are advised on the transferability of credits to private and out of state institutions. The Legislature also intends that these recommendations be reported to the Education Interim Committee and the Public Education Appropriations Committee by October 31, 2015.
Beginning FY 2011, the $2 million in funding for the Electronic High School was moved to the Utah State Office of Education - Initiative Programs line item.
COBI contains unaudited data as presented to the Legislature by state agencies at the time of publication. For audited financial data see the State of Utah's Comprehensive Annual Financial Reports.